All I Need to Know….

Standard
Cody

Cody

I like people.
Sometimes I get frustrated, just like everybody else – and of course there are those people that rub me the wrong way right from the first encounter – you know what I mean, where you can tell from the first few seconds that you and this person are not going to get along very well…but for the most part, I enjoy people. I don’t think I would have made the career choices I have made if I didn’t.

But there is a different kind of feeling when it comes to my little doggie, Cody. This isn’t merely me liking him – there is something unsaid about the affection and feelings I have for this little four-legged creature. Let me back up a moment, we first got Cody for one of our foster children who we felt would do better if we got him a dog.

It is quite a few years later, that little boy has come and gone and so have many others, but we still have Cody. Actually I should say he still has us because he has me totally wrapped around his adorable little paw. And thus goes the love affair between Cody and I.

Remarkably, this wonderful little pup is teaching me life lessons that I want to share here.

Cody with can 2

Cody with can 2

We keep our dog and cat food under the kitchen sink. There are usually piles of cans stacked up quite high, because it has not been pretty the one or two times we have run out. Cody has been able to figure this system out and began breaking into the cabinet to help himself – even if he has recently had dinner. The only thing he can’t do is tell the difference between his food and a can of cat food – but that’s not such a bad thing as Cody likes some of the cat food, anyway.

We have ‘child-proofed’ the cabinet with these bars and latches that are quite complex in our attempt to keep Cody from having all the dog and cat food cans buried all over the house. It works well – but there is always one of two times each week when someone (most likely one of the children) forgets to lock the gadget in place. That once in a while is good enough for Cody.

Cody with Can 1

Cody with Can 1

Once he grabs a can, he walks around the house with it in his mouth until he finds a place that he considers safe (it could be my TV lounge chair or even our bed. He then proceeds to ‘burry’ his find as if it were a slab of meat or a bone. He then begins his vigil, watching over his ‘prey,’ eyes wide open, ever-ready with a pretty menacing, low-pitched growl, considering Cody only weighs about 17 pounds, to anything that gets too close to the can for Cody’s liking; irregardless of their size and weight.

CODYISM # 1
When something is really important to you, watch over it and protect it with all you’ve got!

CODYISM # 2
Know exactly what things matter most to you and be aware of your windows of opportunity with them, then seize the moment and go for it with gusto!

CODYISM # 3
Always have a few places (and maybe even humans) close by, where you feel totally safe!

CODYISM # 4

If you can manage to be cute and adorable, you get your way much more often than not!

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

2 responses »

    • This is unfortunately not a place where you can find a psychologist/therapist, but it might be a place to get inspiration. If you have specific themes you would like us to write about, we will be happy to look into it:)

Leave a comment