Standing Alone

Standard
How it Used to Be

How it Used to Be

Once again, I’m feeling as if what used to be, no longer is. What is going on with our society? How is it that yet another 19 year old boy has access to an arsenal of weapons and explosives and can walk into a public shopping mall and open fire?

What are we doing to each other? Why are so many people filled with such a will of hatefulness and destruction?

Am I standing alone wanting desperately to know who this child was…where his mother was….his father….his educators…anybody? How could he be this lost, this far removed from anything and anyone, to be able to walk into a store and shoot and kill a beautiful young mother of a two-year old baby, just a baby herself at the age of 21?

Years ago, I was in Columbia Maryland. It was a beautiful city, about half way between Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, Maryland. Friends of mine chose to start their lives there as a newly married couple at the time, because of how promising a location it was. And now again, there is yet another case of senseless murders – TOTALLY senseless.

We are losing a major battle with humanity. We are raising more and more children who do not recognize the value of life, not that of others, nor of their own. I ask again…what is happening here? Our public places, our schools, our malls…they are turning into battlegrounds, into chambers of death!

Is there truly nothing for us to do other than watch it continue to grow?

Grammy Award

Grammy Award

I LOVE music. I sing, play an instrument or two and was raised on music. I think its wonderful that the there are award shows like the Grammy’s in which we celebrate the talent of others and their musical abilities. But I am having a hard time with the huge gap in focus and attention being given to the awards even PRIOR to their being handed out, and the horrific news about yesterday’s mall shooting.

If exposure and publicity is equated to significance and importance, then maybe this is part of the problem. I know it is important to be up on these things, but I truly believe it is at least as important to hear and learn about the lives of people who are senselessly taken in these growing and continuing shootings as it is to know which celebrity will be wearing what gown or what outfit at tonight’s upcoming award show.

I believe it is at least as important to know what, if anything our government officials and protective authorities are working on to prevent future shooting sprees in public places as it is to learn of which celebrity attended what pre-Grammy party and who is celebrating after-parties.

Columbia Maryland Mall Shooting

Columbia Maryland Mall Shooting

It has taken me a long time to get to know myself as well as I do, but I have come to realize that I get angry when I am afraid. And I am becoming more and more afraid of what I see happening all around us. I don’t pretend to have any answers, but I know there is strength in numbers and when people work together, wonderful things happen.

Don’t we need to start doing that before it is too late?
Am I standing alone on this or does anybody out here agree?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

One response »

  1. Living in a country where gun ownership is very tightly regulated (not that it means we don’t have an illegal gun ownership problem, which is another issue entirely), it is difficult for me to understand the cultural and societal demand for the “right” to own a gun.

    I do understand though that many, many people are excluded from society and I think that is a huge concern in all countries, particularly 1st world ones. For some, that sense of isolation creates depression which would perhaps explain the increasing suicide rates , for others, it creates a sense of anger which may explain the acts of violence.
    In particular, “angry young men” are the ones most at risk of taking their own lives (in my country, anyway) but they are also at increased risk of being both perpetrators and victims of violence.

    Really hope this reply doesn’t cause offence, Judee. Like I say, I am ignorant of much of U.S culture, so my views on gun ownership are based only on what I read/see on the news or on blogs like this.

Leave a Reply

