Double Your Ability with Mindfulness

Standard
Dance with Sensations

Dance with Sensations

I heard an expression today in which a woman referred to there being a “dance of sensations.” That is something I have never heard of before but it provided me with an image that I absolutely loved.

It leads back to mindfulness and how wonderful it feels to connect to the moment with an awareness and a focus that I don’t get until I call on it. Along with it comes an amazing sense of peace and serenity that restores me and fills me with a renewed emotional energy.

For those of you who have practiced this type of self-care, you will know what I am speaking about immediately, but for those of you who have not, I encourage you to wipe away your doubts and predispositions and just try it. There is so much happening in our lives, the intensity of which ranges from small, insignificant moment to moment things, to major issues that are extremely important. And if we do not become actively involved in where we devote our focus and energy; we are subject to being pulled and shoved in countless directions and winding up feelings bruised and battered.

It is not anybody’s fault because nobody is trying to drain us of our resources and energy; it just happens because we allow ourselves to drift from issue to issue throughout the day, without setting aside a few moments of time for ourselves where we can tap into our own energy source and recharge.

Not only do the people in my life benefit from me being more fully present for the times they need me when I care for myself this way, but they are actually beginning to realize that my personal care time is where I get the energy from and they are respecting it. I heard one of our boys tell his brother “shhhh, she’s doing that quiet stuff she does so she has the energy she needs to deal with us later on.”

Energy Zapping

Energy Zapping

One of my hugest resistances to going along with the self-care regiment for so long was because I viewed it as taking my energy and time away from the things and people I needed to devote myself to. Now I realize it is the total opposite. It is the way I obtain that energy, not lose it.

The level of attention and focus I have because of this regime, is so superior to what I regularly have, is so amazing. Because I have restored myself and cleared away all the unnecessary emotions blocking my efforts, I can provide so much more of myself to handle the situation, it feels as if there are two of me, with twice the amount of energy. I am no longer burdened with other ‘stuff’ that gets in the way of me being a more productive person.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Reply

