The Future is Now

Standard
Future City

Future City

This may come back to haunt me, but I have to admit sometimes I feel as if the world is moving at a pace that makes me nervous and uncomfortable. THERE, I said it!

I actually feel better now that I’ve come clean about my feeling uncomfortable about how quickly things are happening around me. It is as if I am looking into the future, and the future is NOW.

Amazon Prime Air Drone

Amazon Prime Air Drone

Last night, on the television news program “60 Minutes,” Jeffrey P. Bezos the CEO and Chairman of the Board of Amazon.com spoke about testing drones to deliver light-weight packages (five pounds and under) to customers, hopefully before the end of 2015.Not only did Mr. Bezos speak about the prospect, but he also showed viewers drones that already existed and provided a video of one in operation.

I would be totally remiss if I didn’t mention the level of excitement that this stirred within me, but when all was said and done, it also left me with a sense of living in future, the type of sensation I used to get when I would watch an episode of “Star Trek” that I really liked or when I first watched movies like “Total Recall” (the original one) and “Back to the Future.”

I wonder if some of my trepidation can be attributed to the fact that I am no longer part of the world’s youth. There’s no doubt that I had a lot fewer concerns about the world’s future when I was younger. It is an interesting place to be – in the middle of curious excitement and practical concern.

I also believe the speed at which the changes and advances are coming at us has a lot to do with it. It is a wonderful thing to move forward this way, but it is also leaves me feeling unsettled without having had enough time to feel rooted and secure.

Mr. Bezos voiced the need for this level of progress and advancement as necessary in order to maintain Amazon’s edge with the competition. No doubt this is true – because it is what the public is looking for. The faster things happen, the quicker it seems we need them to go.

The therapist in me cringes, believing that although we are capable of processing things quicker than we currently do, our brains have to give something up. I fear for the elements of humanity we are sacrificing as we move forward into the future. It is the lack of personalization that causes me to shudder.

Some people are already up in arms about how little sensitivity we see compared to the past and the way things were in the past. We no longer have the time or economic conditions to permit the old fashioned doctor who came out to a person’s home to care for their patient.

People in my line of work as a social worker are far too overwhelmed with documentation and administrative processes to go the extra mile and provide the personal level of care that social work was founded on.

Although I highly commend Amazon and society in general for moving forward and keeping up the pace we are moving at, I believe the true challenge is to move forward without losing the very ingredients that make us human. I hope and pray we can all see the challenge that exists here and work together to maintain our humanity as we greet the future.

Spinning Earth

Spinning Earth

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

Leave a Reply

