The Voices In My Head

Video

To all appearances, Eleanor Longden was just like every other student, heading to college full of promise and without a care in the world. That was until the voices in her head started talking. Initially innocuous, these internal narrators became increasingly antagonistic and dictatorial, turning her life into a living nightmare. Diagnosed with schizophrenia, hospitalized, drugged, Longden was discarded by a system that didn’t know how to help her. Longden tells the moving tale of her years-long journey back to mental health, and makes the case that it was through learning to listen to her voices that she was able to survive.

Eleanor Longden overcame her diagnosis of schizophrenia to earn a master’s in psychology and demonstrate that the voices in her head were “a sane reaction to insane circumstances.

 

4 responses »

  1. I used to have and hear “voices” in my head. I still have “voices” in my head. Fortunately the ones in my head now are not destructive and the ones that were not in my head, I got rid of ’em.
    http://cmoneyspinner.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/the-voices-in-my-head/

    Mental illness is no play play sickness. If not properly treated, it can destroy you, those you love, and sometimes it impacts folks you didn’t or don’t even know.

    What many people don’t realize is that the “symptoms” or “reactions” can be induced by outside forces. It’s important for the person to be determined not to be overcome by and to fight for their sanity. It helps if the person has support of others. But it may be, you will have to pull yourself out on your own. I speak from personal experience.

    • I know what you mean. Sometimes, you can find yourself in a hole so deep, you cannot see your way out, you become lost in the shadows on the wall and forget that you are really in a cave of shadows. And sometimes, you have to find the inner strength to lift yourself out of the hole. Symptoms are often induced by outside forces (particularly in my case) and it can become debilitating trying to fight them. It is only after I have left the hole, do I realize just how deep I was. Statistically, mental illness destroys so many lives (through suicide for the sufferer, specifically). It does become a fight for sanity, a fight to gain back your mind/consciousness/psyche. When there are outside forces at work, you can forget who you are and which voices are really yours; you can lose sight of what is real and what is unreal. It is quite important to have help in these times.

      I read your post. Yes, a different kind of spin on hearing voices, but just as poignant a post.

      Thank you for the great comment.

  2. Reblogged this on Dispensable Thoughts and commented:
    This post doesn’t quite take the same approach as my post by the same title, “The Voices in My Head”. But it’s worth reblogging and sharing with others who want to hear a story of the triumph of the human spirit.

  3. Pingback: The Voices In My Head – Free Psychology for You | Dispensable Thoughts

Leave a Reply

