Let Creativity Flow

Standard
Creativity

Creativity

Indulge me, please! I am in the mood to just free flow here today. This is something that I have done a few times since I first began posting here, and I promise, the only times I do it is when I am totally tapped into my inner calling to do so.

If this has never happened to you, you will most undoubtedly think me quite mad. But if you have experienced this before, and I believe all writers can relate to this experience at one time or another, you will appreciate it for what it is, almost a complete role reversal in which the paper directs the thoughts, not the more usual way in which the words are formed through thought and intent.

I have tried to describe it before, this almost seemingly out of body type of experience in which it feels as if I am watching my fingers flow across the keys with ‘minds’ of their own. There is a sense of “I’m sitting back and observing the page fill itself” and it feels absolutely wonderful!

There are times I can’t tap into this no matter how hard I try. I have to wonder if maybe the reason that I am unable to tap into it successfully might not be BECAUSE I try. I say that only because as soon as I sense myself putting forth an effort, then the flow becomes interrupted and sort of misses a beat.

Does that even make sense? Well, what if you imagine running water, either like from a brook or even a faucet. The water is flowing and if you put your hand in the middle of the flowing water, it interferes with the motion the water moves in. The flow is still there, but it needs to start up again, though.

Creative Flow

Creative Flow

It is sort of the same thing with the burst of creativity and flow that happens with writing. And once again, it feels wonderful and is quite a remarkable thing to experience.

Creative1

Creative1

So, here’s to all of us experiencing more flow in our lives, not only with those of us who write, but with all of us, no matter what we do. I am sure it is something within each and every one of us, the trick is to be able to find a way to tap into it and each time it happens to me, I remind myself that maybe my choice of words is not quite accurate. Maybe it isn’t something we need to tap into, but rather more like something we need to allow to come out, and only by quieting our inner critique, the voice inside of us that screams how wrong we are or how we should be doing it differently; are we able to make room for the stream through which it flows.

I welcome your comments on this – lets try and strike up a conversation and share experiences – keeping those creative juices flowing!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Judy is a licensed clinical social worker and has worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. Judy’s professional experience in the mental health field along with her love of writing, provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. Her fresh voice and down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life are easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Let Creativity Flow | Pure-Art Productions

  2. As a, what I have been called, “creative person”, I know what you mean.

    Creativity BURSTS out of me, all of the time. It is hard to keep it tapped because my mind will be hyperactive with ideas for future blog posts, for music, for essays, for drawings, for videos, for short films, for songs, playing an instrument, anything and everything. And inspiration flows from everywhere that my senses perceive. And when I am in what is called a “creative slump”, I dig through half-finished ideas, partially completely projects, or start up a collaboration with someone to get back into the flow.

    Honestly, I love the flow, it where I feel most at peace (besides being in the woods and living outside). When I was younger and only writing, I occasionally experienced the writer’s block, but waited it out and would suddenly be hit with the next great idea. At the moment, I am experiencing the flow, with music. I am constantly hearing new songs, new music in my mind that can’t wait to be freed. Time is the only thing that keeps me from getting it all out (and, well, sleep, because for health reasons, I will not deprive myself of sleep; it’s too bad that often sleep deprivation can be a boost for creativity, but in the long run can take its toll upon the mind and body and utltimately hinder that creativity).

    Another awesome post, Judee! 🙂

  3. This is a great description of what I am referring to! Yep, you nailed it – that feeling that is best described as the ideas rushing out – needing to be released. It is a great feeling and I am so happy that you have stopped by and expressed it!

    Thank you!

    Judee

Leave a Reply

