Medication or not?

Standard

A topic that always have raised many questions, is wheter or not to take medication. From my work, I see different client groups, where some use medication, and some not. For me it`s important to let the clients decide for themselves, even if that means trying different options. What is your view on the subject? Here follows a trailer from Finnish therapist

You can get healthy without medication!

Publisert 3. august 2013by 

The movie will be shown under Amaliedagene in Oslo 

Quote: “You can get quite healthy out of it – without medication.” – Dr. Birgitta Alakare (Director, Psychiatrist, Therapist)

~ o ~

225235_692560550770756_413537871_n

Quote: “You can get quite healthy out of it – without medication.” – Dr. Birgitta Alakare (Director, Psychiatrist, Therapist)

Related articles

2 responses »

  1. I’m assuming that the poll has to do with taking medication for the treatment of schizophrenia, since it is paired with a video having to do with that subject. It might have been more helpful if that had been clarified further. I don’t have schizophrenia, but I am very concerned with the subject of using medication to deal with behavior problems associated with dementia. I would have to say that I’m not in favor of it and feel it is much over-used, but there are times when it is necessary. I think each case needs to be determined on its own merits — of course, taking the wishes of the individual into consideration.

    • Good that you underline this, I have not been clear enough about the poll`s intent. People have probably interpreted it like you did, and I guess I meant it a bit like that, but would actually be interesting with a more “general poll”. Not science, but still gives some idea about what people reading this blog, think. I really do agree with you, when it comes to taken the individual into account, but it`s strange how easy good-hearted therapists forget that

Leave a Reply

