Polling All Belief Systems

Standard
Computer Virus

Computer Virus

Its time for me to write so I boot up my computer and watch the screen as I sip on my Sobe. Wow…so many filters and firewalls so my computer can avoid harmful viruses and my identity and important personal information hopefully remains secure and safe.

Just imagine what it would be like if those filters were not in place, I think.

And then it hits me – this is what I’ve been trying to explain it must be like for us when we are young and our belief systems are forming. We don’t know what to think about how to make sense of the world on our own, so we absorb our beliefs and our mind-set from everything around us. But the scary part, is that we have no filter. As children, we don’t know which influences are harmful and which aren’t. We have no firewalls or anti-virus software to keep out hurtful information and beliefs.

A parent gets frustrated at a child and tells them that they will never amount to anything. It happens all the time. But think about the potential harm unfiltered thoughts and beliefs like this become. There is no reason for a young child to question the validity of this idea. They have made poor choices or done things that upset their parent and they hear that they will never amount to anything. Most likely, they don’t hear these types of comments just once, sadly, they are likely to hear it over and over again.

Talk about damaged self-esteem and crippling effects on a person’s future…

If beliefs like this get absorbed, it can’t possibly be an easy thing to counteract. The impact surely must be a very deep one and the effects that it has on a person’s future spills off into every aspect of their life. Undoing the harm is a worthy goal indeed; one that will require a lot of dedication and perseverance.

The question I am about to pose may seem as if it is being thrown into this post without any rhyme or reason. But trust me on this, there is absolutely a method to what may seem like my madness is bringing this up at this time.

What is the difference between truth and fact?

Take your time and really work out a very detailed answer to this question. Your response to this question is going to be the bases for the only effective method I know that can actually reconstruct life-damaging beliefs that we have held with us all our lives.

Are you up for the challenge to define what the difference between truth and fact means to you?

I’m including a poll below. PLEASE reply via comment with your selection and I will post results and how we proceed in a post in the near future.

ABOUT ME

I’m a licensed clinical social worker and have worked extensively as a counselor with children, adolescents, couples and families. I combine professional experience in the mental health field along with my love of writing to provide insight into real-life experiences and relationships. I hope my down-to-earth approach to living a happier, more meaningful life is easy to understand and just as easy to start implementing right away for positive results!

5 responses »

  1. As a survivor of sexual trauma, I am constantly trying to understand my belief systems and how they are impacting my life. This is an interesting way to explain them. Thanks so much.

    • Oh … and for the poll, I believe that facts may or may not represent truth. I am sure you have heard the phrase, “lies, damned lies and statistics”.

    • Elisabeth,

      I am so glad that you found what I have written interesting. I hope it helps you in your quest to understand yourself and your world.

      Judee

    • I am glad you appreciated it. I will without doubt publish much more on this subject, as it is what I work with everyday. Feel free to tell us what you would like to read more about, and maybe we can write a post relevant to you 🙂

  2. I believe that there is no difference between truth and facts, however I do not think they are based in reality. We can believe that something is a fact, until it is proven not to be one. For example, there was a time when people thought the world was flat. To them, that was a fact — until it was proven not to be. The same thing goes for truth. A man can say that he loves his wive, and he can believe that this is absolutely true. Until one day it isn’t true any longer.

Leave a Reply

